My Cup Overflows // Mi Copa Rebosa

Today is about celebrating and even sharing what I’ve meant to do for a few weeks- my new living space in my home city: // Hoy día me gustaría celebrar– empezamos por celebrando mi nuevo hogar en mi querida ciudad de nacimiento, St. Paul-

Yet, I realize there is more to February 14th than just another day to share photos of every day life! Today, we celebrate the anniversary of women becoming a part of the Opus Dei vision (thanks to St. Josemaría Escrivá in 1930). We also celebrate who we love. Read on… // Ademas, yo doy cuenta del significado conocido de hoy dia, el 14 de Febrero. ¡Hoy día consiste en mas de mostrarles fotos de la vida cotidiana! También, lo celebramos el hecho de la bienvenidas a las mujeres para adjuntarse a la visión de Opus Dei (gracias a San Josemaría Escrivá en 1930). Tambien (y por este dia especial con tanto significado), los celebramos quienes los amamos en la vida. Sigue leyendo…


 

A LOT of thanks to A LOT of people (majority of whom I may not specifically mention- but you all know exactly who you are- THANK YOU for your kindness to me).

MUCHÍSIMAS gracias a mucha gente (la mayoría de quienes quizá no los mencionare específicamente- pero ya saben exactamente quienes son- GRACIAS para su amabilidad hacia mi).


 

I want to say thank you to you, these 16 children to whom I have had the gift of being a big sister in your life. Elizabeth, Taylor, Grace, Johnny, Katie, Brianna, Lucas, Asuseth, Lisseth, Aseneth, Leo, Joshy, Amalia, Fae, Sophia, and Josie, you make any Valentine’s day beautiful because you have regularly accepted my silliness, mistakes, faults, and attempts to love. Even as life moves forward, schedules get wild, and we don’t get to see each other as often, that doesn’t mean my heart doesn’t always keep you all at my side! // Quiero decir gracias para cada uno de 16 niños para quienes yo había tenido el don de ser una hermana mayor (muy imperfecta) en sus vidas. Elizabeth, Taylor, Grace, Johnny, Katie, Brianna, Lucas, Asuseth, Lisseth, Aseneth, Leo, Joshy, Amalia, Fae, Sophia, y Josie– todos de ustedes me hacen el día de San Valentina tan hermoso porque regularmente me aceptan con mis tonterías, errores, desperfectos, y intentos a quererlos. Mientras la vida siempre sigue adelante demasiada rápida y nuestros horarios siempre se van locos así que no podamos vernos lo tanto que quisiéramos, esta realidad no significa que mi corazón no siempre los mantiene a mi lado espiritualmente.

IMG_3120wwe.jpg
Doy gracias a Dios por protegerme de lo que pensé que quería y bendecirme con lo que yo no sabía que necesitaba.

To my 8 Cruz Blanca children, I am constantly praying for you. I hope to see you all as God will allow- in another camp session, as He may allow! // A mis 8 niños de Cruz Blanca, siempre les estoy rezando. ¡Espero verlos como Dios me permita- en una otra sesión de campamento, según a El permitiéndome! 

P910106423.jpg
Deléitate en el Señor, y él te concederá las peticiones de tu corazón. -Salmo 37:9

My parent-figures in this life: first of all, the most impressive Mom & Dad, and of course Mamarú, the most lovely Heidi, and wise, generous Ann Marie- you all inspire me infinitely each in a unique, impressive way. I am so undeserving, yet honored, to know each of you. // A mis figuras de la maternidad/paternidad: antes que todos, a mi mama y papa, y tambien por supuesto a Mamarú, a linda Heidi, a la sabia, generosa Ann Marie- todos me inspiran infinitamente, cada uno en una manera única y impresionante. Soy tan indigna, pero aun honrada, para conocerlos. 

I have not forgotten my older siblings in this life: Alyssa, Andrea, Angela, Ryan, and many fraternas in Arequipa; it’s always better having you all to cheer me on and offer up advice, comfort, positivity, and good company. I love you all more than you could know. // No he olvidado mis hermanos mayores de esta vida: Alyssa, Andrea, Angela, Ryan, y muchas fraternas en Arequipa; siempre es mejor a tenerlos alentándome y ofreciendome consejo, comodidades, positividad, y su buen compañía.  

My sisters of heart: thank you for inspiring me and keeping me going when I need the push, or even just an ear to hear me out. Hannah P, Hannah H, Ann, Anna, Claudia, Sina, CSully, Marie, Gianella, Antonella, Frances, Brittney A, Erin B, CDinh, and EBitt- ya’ll shine and I’m blessed to keep you company as each of you succeed! // A mis hermanas del corazon: gracias para inspirarme y mantenerme en mi camino cuando no el lo que quiero pero es para mi bien, o a veces para escucharme cuando es lo que necesito. Hannah P, Hannah H, Ann, Anna, Claudia, Sina, CSully, Marie, Gianella, Antonella, Frances, Brittney A, Erin B, CDinh, y EBitt- todas son estrellas del mundo (raras así, yo lo se) y estoy bendecida para mantener nuestras amistades mientras cada una de ustedes se logran mucho.

To my various friends I’ve met along the way (Abigail, Michaela, Lisa, Jacqueline, Erin S, Caroline and all CWL members/leaders, Jessica, Emily, Sister Emy, Karina, Hannah K, Theresa, Kelly, Jenny, Rachel, Maggie, Mallory, Lauren S, Tracy, Anne S and Bella, Kendra, my fellow Cruz Blanca volunteers, Natalie Ortega and her family in Arequipa, Jill and family, all the Gigi girls from Kairos, Fiona, Hannah and Jordan, Marcus, Jimmy, all 11 others of my 2014 study-abroad group members, the 2015 Latino study-abroad- group that accepted me as another Latina (Giane of course, Ana, Oscar, etc. etc.), EVERYONE involved with the brilliant Medical Missions International (Jodie, Manuela, Alex, Frida, Emma, Rodney, Lori, Erin, Kyla, Nichole, William, Rachel, Bryce, AND SO EQUALLY-AS-AMAZING PEOPLE), to Carlos- the best guide EVER and all others on my Colca 2015 trek, to all members of MVC who’ve been with me in this past year (extra shout-out to Emily, Dayana, and Sandra, Viola, and countless more great people), I thank you ALL infinitely for your time, laughter, fun, and general *patience* to deal with the ups and downs of life as God has put our lives on the same path here and there! // A mis amigos variados (todos buenos) quienes he conocido a lo largo de esta vida (mira arriba, la lista es larga solo por Dios)– los doy a TODOS una graaan gracias para sus horas, risas, diversión, y gran paciencia para tolerar mis altibajos de la vida cuando Dios nos puso cerca en la vida.

I can’t forget amazing aunts, uncles, grandparents, and godmother- because you all have had a special place in this Valentine’s Day (and my life in general) as well- this year either by brunches, letters, or prayers! // ¡No puedo olvidar a mis tíos, abuelos, y madrina- todos me han dado una vida tan especial por desayunos tradicionalmente juntos, cartas, vacaciones, o oraciones!

To all my beloved San Juan Apóstol students and OT-internship children clients this year, I think of you all so much, I love you each dearly, and pray for your continual happiness and great progress through such amazing hard work that you each consistently demonstrate! To my AMAZING work/volunteer leaders, Taryn in Arequipa and Katia in Lurin, I am so thankful for your help in allowing these experiences to happen (and with great success). // A todos mis queridos alumnos en SJA niños tan fabulosos con quienes he trabajado- recuerdo a ustedes cada día, los quiero tiernamente, y rezo para su felicidad continua y progreso por trabajo difícil pero exitoso que todos me han demostrado. Hacia mis jefas increíbles, Taryn en Arequipa y Katia en Lurin, las agradezco tanto para su ayuda en permitirme seguir con estas experiencias inolvidables. 

Finally, to my fabulous roomies whom already brighten my days more than I have even thought to express- Lauren, Alli, Ellie, and Alyssa- I am so excited to continue this semester with so many great, unexpected moments to share together…such as this very evening, for example; photo evidence provided: // Finalmente, a mis compañeras de casa: ya los iluminan mis días mas que antes he pensado en contándoles- Lauren, Alli, Ellie, y Alyssa- tengo tanta emoción para continuar este semestre con tantos momentos desesperados pero también grandes (esta tarde es un buen ejemplo, como tenemos la evidencia por una foto y todo):

la foto 3
Our Cleveland Ave home, February 14th, 2016 // En nuestro hogar de la Avenida Cleveland en el 14 de Febrero, 2016
la foto 5 (1)
Mi copa se desborda con sus bendiciones. -Salmo 23:5

 

Yet finally, I know one thing on this special day celebrating love: where the only Love I will ever need is to be found (please pray for only this Love in my life, as I need to know Him more every day): // Pero una otra cosa (la mas importante): La sé una cosa por seguro en este día que celebra el amor: yo lo sé donde esta el único amor cual que realmente necesito:

IMG_591333.jpg
“Para enamorarse de Dios es el romance más grande; de buscarlo es la mayor aventura; para encontrarlo, el mayor logro humano.” -San Agustín de Hipona

To anyone who’s ever helped me or even shared a kind word, undeserved smile, or a little patience- I promise you that my heart won’t forget and my prayers for you are present today and each day moving forward! For those in great struggle right now, I am praying for you just as much; I pray that you (and I) will know only great peace! // A quienquiera me ayudaba o me había compartido una palabra amable, una sonrisa desmerecida, o un poca pacienca- les prometo que mi corazon no los olvida y mis oraciones se quedan para ustedes hoy dia y cada dia despues. Para ellos experimentando cualquier sufrimiento ahora, les estoy rezando para que ustedes (y yo) solo sepamos una gran paz por toda la vida.

Responder

